Sheriff's Office Home
Job Opportunities
Crime of the Week
Civil Process Service Fees
Concealed Permit
Contact Information
Juvenile Services
Inmate Information
Records Schedule
Victim and Offender Info
VIN & HIN Inspections
Child Restraint
Victim Assistance
Traffic Complaints
Sex Offender Registration
Requests for Proposal
Press Releases
Additional Information
Citizen Connect
Employment Opportunities

$5000 hiring bonus for Detention Deputies!

Please click here for information on how to apply for jobs with the Laramie County Sheriff's Office.
Click here to read the EEOP Utilization Report

Deputy Selection Process

  1. Physical Agility Assessment (Based on Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy Standards - SEE BELOW) 2. Ergometric Testing - For Juvenile Services Officers only
  2. Ergometric Testing- For Juvenile Services Officers only
  3. Formal Oral Interview
  4. A Conditional offer of employment may be offered after successfully passing steps 1-3.
  5. Extensive Background Investigation
  6. Drug Screen
  7. Pre-Employment Polygraph Examination
  8. Medical Examination
  9. Psychological Examination
  10. Administrative Review

Physical Agility Assessment

All standard are based on the Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy (WLEA) required entry-level minimums (for Peace Officer and Detention Basics).


Event: Age Group:            
  20-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59
1 minute Sit-ups 38 34 31 29 26 24 21
1 minute Push-ups 29 24 21 18 15 13 11
1 1/2 mile Run 12:51 13:36 14:03 14:29 14:58 15:26 16:05


Event: Age Group:            
  20-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59
1 minute Sit-ups 32 25 22 20 17 14 10
1 minute Push-ups 23 19 16 13 12 11 8
1 1/2 mile Run 15:26 15:57 16:28 16:58 17:26 17:55 18:20

As of: February 25, 2005
NOTE: Numbers listed for each event indicate minimum number of repetitions to meet WLEA 40% standard for each event. Numbers for the run indicates the maximum time standard to reach to 40% level for that event.

Sheriff Deputies are required to attend the Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy, at the department's expense, for the WLEA basic course for officer certification within one year of being hired. This course is 8 weeks long. Persons currently certified, either in Wyoming or other states, may not need to attend some or all of the basic academy. This depends on the length and type of academy attended, dates of law enforcement employment and other factors. However, Wyoming Peace Officer's Standards and Training (POST) will require certified out-of-state applicants to pass a challenge exam and/or other requirements to achieve Wyoming Certification, as well as attendance at specified courses at a minimum.

The Laramie County Sheriffs' Office has no requirement or obligation to hire any individual. Disqualification for employment consideration may occur at any phase of the hiring process. Laramie County is a drug-free and equal opportunity employer.


Interested applicants may apply through