Code & Law Enforcement
Vehicle Titles & Licensing
Things to Do
Dates of the Testing Process
Applications Close: Thursday, June 22nd at 1300
Written Test: Wednesday, June 28th at 0800
Physical Fitness Assessment: Wednesday, June 28th at 1000
Interviews: Wednesday, June 28th starting at 1300 - 1700. (if successful in the PT and Written test)
Interviews continued: Thursday, June 29th starting at 0800 - 1700
This is a general knowledge test designed for people with no prior law enforcement experience or law enforcement background. The exam consists of 4 parts;
Math - Calculators not permitted. Questions are in the form of story problems:
Spelling - Select the misspelled word:
Grammar - Make the correct grammar correction.
Reading Comprehension - After reading a report you’ll pick the best option to complete the sentence:
*This information is provided by the Laramie County Sheriff’s Office and is only a reference for the Written Exam. It is not endorsed by WY POST, nor are the examples actual questions on the exam.
Applicants who have successfully completed the written exam must also pass a physical training (PT) test. Applicants need to bring a photo ID, water, and wear appropriate attire for physical activities/current weather conditions.
The PT test consists of three activities:
1. One Minute Sit-Up Test: The score is calculated by the number of bent leg sit-ups performed in 1 minute.
2. One Minute Push-Up Test: The score is calculated by the number of push-ups performed in 1 minute.
3. 1.5 mile run: This is a timed run.
For more details on the fitness standards, go to: https://www.wleacademy.com/fitness-standards
For applicants who successfully complete the written exam and PT assessment, oral boards will be scheduled at the Laramie County Sheriff’s Office that afternoon.
Deputy Selection Process
Sheriff Deputies are required to attend the Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy, at the department's expense, for the WLEA basic course for officer certification within one year of being hired. This course is 8 weeks long for detention and 12 weeks for patrol. Persons currently certified, either in Wyoming or other states, may not need to attend all the basic academy courses. This depends on the length and type of academy attended, dates of law enforcement employment and other factors. However, Wyoming Peace Officer's Standards and Training (POST) will require certified out-of-state applicants to pass a challenge exam and/or other requirements to achieve Wyoming Certification, as well as attendance at specified courses at a minimum.
The Laramie County Sheriffs' Office has no requirement or obligation to hire any individual. Disqualification for employment consideration may occur at any phase of the hiring process. Laramie County is a drug-free and equal opportunity employer.
Interested applicants may apply through https://www.governmentjobs.com/careers/laramiecounty.