Packet 13

Abatement Forms and Procedures

For Wyoming

2014

Published by
Citizens Access to Courts Committee
c/o Wyoming Supreme Court
2301 Capitol Avenue
Supreme Court Building
Cheyenne, WY 82002

<u>LIST OF FORMS – PACKET 13</u> ABATEMENT FORMS

- List of Forms 1.
- 2. **Abatement Instructions**
- Claim for Abatement of Child Support 3.
- Notice of Immediate Approval of Claim for Abatement of Child Support
 Objection to Claim for Abatement of Child Support 4.
- 5.
- Response to Objection to Claim for Abatement of Child Support 6.
- 7. Order on Abatement
- *All underlined forms are required for claiming an abatement of child support where the parties agree.
- **Other forms may be required by your Court.

ABATEMENT - INSTRUCTIONS

PLEASE CAREFULLY READ THE INSTRUCTIONS AND THE FORMS CONTAINED IN THIS PACKET. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PLEASE CONSULT WITH AN ATTORNEY. You must fill out all forms as completely as possible. If you have sections where you have left blanks, the judge may reject your form as not complete.

- **Step 1.** Qualifying for an Abatement. Wyoming law (W.S. § 20-2-305) allows for a temporary reduction in child support when a non-custodial parent has custody of the child(ren) for more than fifteen (15) consecutive days. Overnight and weekend visitation with the custodial parent during the period for which an abatement is claimed does not count to disrupt the 15 consecutive day requirement. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, child support shall abate by one-half (1/2) of the daily support obligation for each day the non-custodial parent has physical custody of the child(ren) for at least 15 consecutive days.
- **Step 2.** Claim for Child Support Abatement. To claim an abatement for child support, the non-custodial parent must fill out and file the Claim for Child Support Abatement with the Clerk of District Court within thirty (30) days after the child(ren) is/are returned to the custodial parent, and must also pay the \$10.00 filing fee (cash, certified check, or money order). The Clerk will mail a copy of the Claim to the custodial parent. The non-custodial parent should also submit to the Clerk an Order on Abatement form on which the caption has been filled in. The Judge will complete the Order after the time for filing objections and responses has expired.

***Failure to file the *Claim for Child Support Abatement* with the filing fee within the 30 day time period will result in a rejection of the claim.

- **Step 3.** The Custodial Parent May Approve or Object to the Claim Within 30 Days. Once a claim is filed with the Clerk of District Court, the Clerk will mail a copy of the *Claim* to the custodial parent at the address on file. The custodial parent may either approve or object to the abatement claim.
 - A. If the claim is correct, the custodial parent should file a *Notice of Immediate Approval* with the Clerk of District Court. There is no filing fee for the *Notice*. The Clerk will mail a copy of the *Notice* to the non-custodial parent. Move on to **Step 5** below.

- B. If the custodial parent objects to the claim (for example, if the dates and/or amount of claim are incorrect), the custodial parent must file an *Objection to Claim for Child Support Abatement* with the Clerk of Court within thirty (30) days of the date the Clerk mailed a copy of the *Claim and Notice for Child Support Abatement* to the custodial parent. The *Objection* must be accompanied by a \$10.00 fee (cash, certified check, or money order). The Clerk will mail a copy of the *Objection* to the non-custodial parent. Move on to Step 4 below.
- ***Failure to file an *Objection to Claim for Child Support Abatement* with the filing fee within the 30 day time period may result in the Court approving the *Claim for Child Support Abatement*.
- **Step 4.** Response to the Objection. If an *Objection* is timely filed, the noncustodial parent MAY respond to the issues raised in the *Objection* by filing a *Response to Objection to Claim for Child Support Abatement* within fifteen (15) days of the date the Clerk mailed a copy of the *Objection to Claim for Child Support Abatement* to the non-custodial parent. There is no fee associated with a *Response*. The Clerk will mail a copy of the *Response* to the custodial parent. Move on to **Step 5** below.
 - ***CLAIMS, OBJECTIONS AND RESPONSES THAT ARE NOT TIMELY FILED, INCOMPLETE OR NOT ACCOMPANIED BY THE FILING FEE ARE BARRED WITHOUT FURTHER ORDER OF THE COURT.
 - ***Remember, complete all portions of the forms and include the address of both parties, dates of visitation and calculations for the claimed abatement. Forms lacking the required information may be returned to the party who submitted them. If the 30 day time period has not expired, you may submit a corrected form to the Clerk of District Court.
- **Step 5. Judge will Approve or Reject the Claim.** The Clerk of District Court will notify the Judge of all *Claims, Objections* and *Responses* and the Judge will resolve the differences with or without a hearing. The Judge will complete the *Order on Abatement* form that the non-custodial parent provided when he/she filed the claim. Once complete, the *Order on Abatement* will be mailed to the parties. If an abatement is allowed, it will be applied first to current child support due and then to any arrearage balance owed for past-due child support. **The non-custodial parent should note the following:**
 - A. **Child Support Withheld from Paycheck**: If child support is withheld from your paycheck and you are current on your child support obligation, you will

receive a refund check from the Clerk of the District Court or the State Disbursement Unit for the abatement credit amount. If you are in arrears, your abatement credit will be applied to your arrearage balance by the Clerk of District Court or the State Disbursement Unit.

B. Child Support Paid Directly by Non-Custodial Parent: If you pay child support on your own (i.e., it is not automatically withheld from your paycheck), and you are current in your support obligation, you MUST subtract the abated amount from your next scheduled payment if you want to receive the abatement credit. If you do not subtract the abatement credit and instead pay the full amount on your next scheduled payment, this may be considered a gift to the custodial parent and you may lose the right to the abatement credit. If you are in arrears, your abatement credit will be applied to your arrearage balance by the Clerk of District Court or the State Disbursement Unit.

Summary of Instructions:

Non-custodial Parent: If you have had custody of the child(ren) for 15 or more consecutive days, file the following with the Clerk of District Court within 30 days after the children are returned to the custodial parent:

- A. Claim for Child Support Abatement; AND
- B. Pay the \$10.00 Filing Fee (cash, certified check, or money order); AND
- C. Submit the proposed Order on Abatement.

The custodial parent will have 30 days to file an *Objection*, if desired. If the custodial parent files an *Objection*, you may file a *Response* within **15 days**.

Custodial Parent: After you have been notified of the Claim for Child Support Abatement, you may file either:

- A. A *Notice of Immediate Approval*. Use this form if you agree with the information contained in the *Claim*. No filing fee is required; OR
- B. An *Objection to Claim for Child Support Abatement* if you disagree with dates the non-custodial parent had the child(ren) or if you disagree with the amount of the abatement claimed. This form must be filed within 30 days and you must pay a \$10.00 filing fee (cash, certified check, or money order).

Both Parties: After the time period for objections and responses has expired, the Judge will make a decision on the *Claim*, with or without a hearing. If a hearing is needed, you will be notified of the date and time to appear before the Court. If an abatement is allowed, it will be applied first to past due child support owed, if any, and then to the next child support payment due.

Non-Custodial Parent please note: If you pay child support on your own (it is not withheld from your paycheck) and you are current on your child support obligation, you MUST subtract the abatement credit amount from your next child support payment in order to receive the credit. Otherwise, if you pay the full amount of your next child support payment, it may be considered a gift to the custodial parent and you may lose the right to the abatement credit. If you are in arrears or if your child support payments are withheld from your paycheck, the Clerk of District Court or the State Disbursement Unit will either credit the abatement amount towards any arrearage you may have or issue a refund check to you if you are current in your child support obligation, whichever the case may be.

STATE OF WYOMING)	IN THE DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF) ss.)	JUDICIAL DISTRICT
Plaintiff/Petitioner, VS.	,)) Civil Action Case No)
Defendant/Respondent.	,)
		D SUPPORT ABATEMENT oming Statute § 20-2-305)
ABATEMENT IS CLAIM	IED. CLAIM	30 DAYS AFTER THE PERIOD FOR WHICH IS THAT ARE NOT TIMELY FILED OR IT FURTHER ORDER OF THE COURT.
I, abatement for child support if following in support of the claim		, the non-custodial parent, hereby claim an with Wyoming Statute § 20-2-305, and submit the
Initials and year of birth of the	child(ren) for w	whom you are claiming an abatement:
Child's initials:		
Child's year of birth:		
Child's initials:		
Child's year of birth:		
Child's initials:		
Child's year of birth:		
Child's initials:		
Child's year of birth:		
Date visitation began:		
Date visitation ended:		_
My total child support obligation	on is \$	per month.
Claim for Child Support Abatement		

Claim for Child Support Abatement March 2014 Page 1 of 3

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.		hild support obligation <i>per child</i> is \$ by number of children for whom support is due)	per month. (Total monthly child support obligation
	A.	My daily support obligation is:	\$	(Monthly child support obligation times 12, divided by 365)
	B.	One-half of my daily support obligation is	\$	(Line "A" divided by 2)
	C.	Number of days of consecutive visitation:	\$	(Must be 15 or more consecutive days)
	D.	My total abatement claim amount is	\$	(Multiply Line "B" times Line "C");
	OR			
	E.	Amount of Abatement Credit ordered by the Court in the <i>Decree</i> or other <i>Order</i> establishing or modifying child support:	\$	
6.	Is chil	d support withheld from your paycheck?	☐ Yes ☐ No	
7.	Do yo	ou owe back child support (arrears)?	☐ Yes ☐ No	
		If yes, the amount owed is \$	(Ask the Clerk	of District Court if you do not know).
8.	balanc	ment of child support will be applied to any ce owed to the custodial parent for past-dudial parent fails to file an objection or file at shall be reduced from the next scheduled p	e child support. s a notice of im	If there is no arrearage and the mediate approval, the abatement
9.	Notice	e of this Claim for Child Support Abatement	shall be given to	the custodial parent, whose name
	and ac	ldress is:		
10	.∏Ih	ave attached the \$10.00 filing fee (cash, cert	tified check or m	oney order).

DATED this	day of	, 20
	Si	gnature
		inted Name:
	Ad	ddress:
	Ph	none Number:
		NOTICE
		NOTICE
this Claim, you may co	omplete and file	parent, that if you AGREE with the information contained in a <i>Notice of Immediate Approval of Claim for Child Support</i> Court, whose address is
		, within 30 days of the date the Clerk mailed a
copy of this <i>Claim</i> to <i>Claim</i> , you must comp	you, and the aba plete and file an	atement will be granted; OR if you OBJECT to the foregoing in <i>Objection to Claim for Child Support Abatement</i> with the
copy of this <i>Claim</i> to granted. If an <i>Object</i>	you. If no <i>Objection</i> is filed and	0.00 filing fee, within 30 days of the date the Clerk mailed a <i>jection</i> is filed with the Clerk, the abatement claim will be d not barred, the Court shall resolve the differences, with or
without a hearing, and e	enter an appropri	ate order.
** INSTRUCTIONS	AND FORMS I	FOR THIS ACTION (PACKET 13) CAN BE OBTAINED
AT THE DISTRICT	COURT CLE	ERK'S OFFICE OR ARE AVAILABLE ONLINE AT:
http://www.courts.stat	te.wy.us/DandC	S.aspx.
NOTICE O	F MAILING C	LAIM FOR CHILD SUPPORT ABATEMENT
The foregoing <i>Cl</i> whose address is:		port Abatement and Notice were mailed to the custodial parent,
whose address is.		
		this
day of	, 20	
•		
		Clerk of District Court
		Bv.
		By: Deputy

STATE OF WYOMING)		IN THE DISTRIC	CT COURT
COUNTY OF) ss.)		JUDICI	AL DISTRICT
Plaintiff/Petitioner,	,)	Civil Action Case	a No
vs.))	CIVII ACTIOII Case	5 NO
Defendant/Respondent.	 ,)		
	(Pursuant to Wy	SATEMENT coming Statu		
the Claim for Child Supp				
\$	in his/he	er child s	support obligation	for the period
for fifteen (15) consecutive				
This notice is filed p	prior to the expira	tion of the thi	erty (30) day time perio	od for objections, and
by its submission I waive t	he right to object	to the refere	nced claim for child	support abatement.
DATED this	_ day of			
	Signat Printe	d Name:		
		Number:		

NOTICE OF MAILING

on this day of	, 20_
Clerk of District Court	

STA	TE OF V	WYOMING)		IN THE DISTRICT COURT
COU	JNTY O	F) ss.)		JUDICIAL DISTRICT
———Plaint	ciff/Petition	ner,	,)))	Civil Action Case No
		VS.)	
Defen	ndant/Resp	oondent.	,)	
			FO CLAIM FO		O SUPPORT ABATEMENT ute §20-2-305)
THE PAR	E CLAII RENT. (M AND NOTICE	FOR CHILD HAT ARE NO	SUPPOR	S OF THE DATE THE CLERK MAILED T ABATEMENT TO THE CUSTODIAL CLY FILED ARE BARRED WITHOUT
	I, racy of th as follo	ne Claim For Chila	l Support Abate	, the un ment filed	dersigned custodial parent, hereby object to the with the Court, and in support of this <i>Objection</i>
1.	Date	the Claim was filed	d:		
2.	Date	the Claim was	mailed by the	e Clerk o	of District Court to the custodial parent:
3.	Reaso	on(s) for Objection	:		
		weekend or ove	arent did not ha ernight visitatio	ve child(re on with cu	ill NOT abate. n) for fifteen (15) consecutive days excluding astodial parent during the period for which tion):
		Computation is i	incorrect. The a	amount of	the abatement should be as follows:
			support obligatio child support oblig		\$ 2, divided by 365)

		B.	One-half of the daily support obligation is: (Line "A" divided by 2)	\$
		C.	Number of days of consecutive visitation: (Must be 15 or more consecutive days)	\$
		D.	The amount of abatement should be: (Multiply Line "B" times Line "C")	\$
	OR			
		E.	Amount of Abatement Credit ordered by the Court in the <i>Decree</i> or other <i>Order</i> establishing or modifying child support:	\$
		Other	(set out specific reasons):	
4. 5.			stodial parent current in the child support payments? ached the \$10.00 filing fee (cash, certified check, or more	Yes No
J.			day of, 20	ney order).
			Signature Printed Name:	
			Address:Phone Number:	
<u>NO'</u>			ILING OBJECTION TO CLAIM FOR CHILD SUPP	_
paren			g Objection to Claim for Child Support Abatement was mass is	
			this day of	, 20
			Clerk of District Court	
			By:	
			Deputy	

STA	TE OF WYOMING)	-	IN THE DISTRICT COURT
COU	JNTY OF) ss.)	-	JUDICIAL DISTRICT
Plaint	iff/Petitioner, VS.))))	Civil Action Case No
Defen	ndant/Respondent.)	
		TION TO CLA		CHILD SUPPORT ABATEMENT te §20-2-305)
respo		<i>bjection</i> by filin	g a <i>Respo</i> i	mely filed, the non-custodial parent MAY nse within fifteen (15) days of the date the odial parent.
custo	I,odial parent's <i>Objection to Clai</i>	m for Child Sup	_, the nor	n-custodial parent, hereby respond to the <i>tement</i> filed with the Court as follows:
1.	Date the Objection was filed:			
2.	Date the Objection was m	ailed by the Cl	lerk of D	istrict Court to the non-custodial parent:
3.	I respond to the custodial pa	arent's Objection	n as follo	ws (be specific):
	DATED this day of		,	20
		Address:		
		Phone Numb	er.	

$\frac{\text{NOTICE OF MAILING RESPONSE TO OBJECTION TO CLAIM FOR CHILD}}{\text{\underline{SUPPORT ABATEMENT}}}$

The foregoing Response to Objects custodial parent, whose address is:				iled to t	he
		on	this	day	0
	Clerk of District Court				
	By:				

STA	TE OF V	WYOMING)		IN THE DISTR	ICT COURT
COU	INTY O	F) ss.)		JUDIC	CIAL DISTRICT
)		
Plaint	iff/Petition	ner,)	Civil Action Cas	se No
		VS.)		
)		
Defen	dant/Resp	ondent.	,)		
			ORDER C	N ABAT	EMENT	
	THIS	MATTER having	come befo	ore the C	ourt upon the <i>Cl</i>	laim for Child Support
	ement, a	and the Court, having r	eviewed the	e file herei	n, and, if applicable	e, having reviewed the non-
custo	dial par	ent's response thereto,	and he	eard the ar	guments of the par	rties, and otherwise being
		in the premises, FIND				
1.		No <i>Objection</i> was fil	ed by the c	ustodial pa	arent; OR	
		The custodial paren	nt's <i>Object</i>	tion was	not timely filed	and, therefore, was not
consi	idered by	y this Court; OR				
		The custodial paren	t's <i>Objectio</i>	on was tii	nely filed and has	been considered by this
Cour	t.					
2.		The non-custodial pa	arent is enti	tled to an	abatement of child	support pursuant to Wyo.
Stat.	Ann. §2	0-2-305 in the amount	of \$	for	the period of	through
		OR				
		The non-custodial pa	arent is not	entitled to	o an abatement pui	rsuant to Wyo. Stat. Ann.
	§20-2	-305 for the following	reasons:			
		The claim wa	s not timely	y filed;		
		The non-cust	odial paren	t did not h	ave the child(ren) f	for 15 consecutive days;
		The Court ha	s previously	v ordered	that child support w	ill NOT abate; OR

	Other:
3.	IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that:
	☐ The Claim for Child Support Abatement is GRANTED. The non-custodial parent is
entitle	d to an abatement of child support pursuant to Wyo. Stat. Ann. §20-2-305 in the amount of
\$	for the period of through, and the Clerk
of the	District Court of the district named above shall enter the abatement credit upon the child
suppoi	rt records. The abatement may be accomplished by:
	☐ If child support is withheld from your paycheck, you will receive a refund check
	from the Clerk of the District Court or the State Disbursement Unit if you are current on your
	child support obligation, or if you are in arrears, your abatement credit will be applied to your
	arrearage balance; OR
	☐ If you pay child support on your own (i.e., it is not withheld from your paycheck)
	and you are current in your child support obligation upon entry of this Order on Abatement,
	you may subtract the abated amount from your next scheduled child support payment (THIS
	IS YOUR RESPONSIBLIITY). If you do not subtract the abatement credit and instead
	pay the full amount of your next scheduled child support payment, this may be
	considered a gift to the custodial parent and you may lose the right to the abatement
	credit. If you are in arrears upon entry of this Order on Abatement, your abatement credit
	will be applied to your arrearage balance.
OR	
	☐ The Claim for Child Support Abatement is DENIED.

SO ORDERED this	day of	, 20	·
	DISTRICT COUF	RT JUDGE	
Copies sent to:			
Plaintiff/Petitioner/or his/her Attorney	's Name and Address		
Defendant/Respondent/or his/her Atto	rney's Name and Addres	S	